screenshot of the Administration block. There is an arrow pointing to 'Users' and Groups is highlighted.You can manually add or remove enrolled users to a group using the Add/Remove Users function.
  1. Navigate to your LEO unit, and from the Administration menu select Unit administration > Users > Groups.
  2. Select a group you've created from the Groups column on the left. When you select a group, a list of current members will appear in a column on the right.
  3. Click the 'Add/remove users' button under the list of group members.

On the next screen there will be two columns: 'Group members' and 'Potential members':

The Add and Remove Users screen with columns for current and potential members

'Potential members' displays a list of all currently enrolled users in the unit that are not already a member of the selected group.

  1. To add a user to the group, select the user from the list of potential members on the right and click the 'Add' button.
  2. To remove a user from the group, select the user from the list of group members on the left and click the 'Remove' button.

You can search for a specific user in either column by using the 'Search' box under each column. Begin typing the user's first or last name into the Search box and it will automatically filter the list of users as you type.

  1. Click the 'Back to groups' button at the bottom of the screen to return to the Groups page.

Add/Remove multiple users

You can to add or remove multiple users at once by holding down the 'control' button (PC) or the 'Command' key (Mac), selecting the required users from the list, then clicking the 'Add' or 'Remove' button.

Additional Search options

The 'Search' function also includes several additional options you may wish to try when adding or removing users from a group. These options are located under the list of current group members, and the chosen options will apply when searching for either existing group members and potential members.

a screenshot of the search option available to you from the Groups page

Manually modifying Tutorial Direct group membership

The Add/Remove Users function is disabled in the Tutorial Direct Groups tab of the Groups section. If your unit is integrated with Tutorial Direct groups (via the Unit Settings), you will not be able to add or remove users manually in your Tutorial Direct Groups. Changes to these groups must be done in Tutorial Direct.

Learning & teaching

Please contact the Learning and Teaching Centre for professional development, resources and advice for your learning and teaching needs at ACU.

LEO support

Available 8am-10pm Sydney time, Mon to Fri,
9am-5pm Weekends and public holidays
Closed Good Friday and Christmas


LEO Guides
LEO Guides feedback